--- title: "New: Default Matter Permissions + More" slug: "new-default-matter-permissions" updated: 2026-03-26T18:57:52Z published: 2026-03-26T18:57:52Z canonical: "help.lexworkplace.com/new-default-matter-permissions" --- > ## Documentation Index > Fetch the complete documentation index at: https://help.lexworkplace.com/llms.txt > Use this file to discover all available pages before exploring further. # New: Default Matter Permissions + More > [!NOTE] > New in LexWorkplace > > March 26, 2026 ## In This Release - New: Default Matter Permissions - New and Updated Rights - Miscellaneous Bugfixes and UX Improvements --- ## Default Matter Permissions By default, existing and newly-created Matters are open and accessible to all members of your firm (until this release, this default could not be changed). With this update, you can now change this default behavior by defining explicit *Default Matter Permissions.* Simply navigate to: - Settings > Permission & Access > Default Matter Permissions Then, define your preferred Default Matter Permissions. What you specify here will be applied to all new Matters upon creation, going forward. ![Settings for default matter permissions accessible to all users in a management interface.](https://cdn.document360.io/cc24f28e-6bf8-4cc0-b7cd-519f8d33e693/Images/Documentation/default_matter_perms_allusers.png) Learn more in our How-To Guide: [Default Matter Permissions](/v1/docs/default-matter-permissions) --- ## New + Updated Rights In a recent update, we released [Groups + Rights Management](/v1/docs/new-in-lexworkplace-rights-management), where administrators can define what users (groups) can perform what actions and what they cannot. In this update, we’ve added and updated a number of new Rights to give you even more granular control over your firm and its data. | Right | In This LexWorkplace Update | Description | | --- | --- | --- | | Manage Default Matter Permissions | New (Added) | The ability to set/configure Default Matter Permissions | | Permanently Delete (Empty Trash Bin) | New (Added) | The ability to empty the Trash Bin, permanently deleting its contents* | | Override Document Lock | New (Added) | The ability to override and unlock a Document lock (a document that is in use or checked out)* | | See and Manage Shares | Updated | Users with this Right can now reset the Share duration/window, resend, and revoke Shares* | *This operation was previously only available to Firm Admins. You can manage the Rights for any given Group by navigating to that Group. Learn more in our How-To Guide: [Groups + Rights Management](/v1/docs/rights-management)